Home » Loneliness » I Got To Leave The House…….

I Got To Leave The House…….


I know there are many people out there who dread going to work everyday. Fortunately I am not one of them. I absolutely love my job and the people I work with. Knowing I am appreciated and cared about by both my bosses and fellow workers makes a big difference.

As most of you know, I had foot surgery last week. I now have to work at home for the next 10 weeks or so. This is working out well considering I get almost all my work emailed to me anyway. Many people would consider working at home a dream come true. I am not going to lie, I do love it. There is one very important thing that I really miss, my co-workers and interacting with people.  I live alone with my two dogs. Now don’t get me wrong the dogs are great company but they are no match for human interaction. My blog has helped me connect with people and has been a godsend. I look forward to the daily posts and talking with fellow bloggers. The true human contact and interaction is what I miss.

Well yesterday two of my co-workers went out of their way and came and picked me up for work. I cannot tell you how good it felt to get out of the house! It made it especially nice that my co-workers were genuinely happy to see me! 🙂 Just sitting at my desk in the middle of a big room full of accounting people made me feel so much better. I can’t describe how much it means to know that my company is 100% behind me in my recovery. We decided I will go into work once a week. This way we can trade paperwork and I can get out of the house! I brought a ton of paperwork home to match up and go through but that is OK because I got out of the house.

Tomorrow my sister-in-law is picking me up to go to the movies in town. I am so looking forward to seeing the movie “The Call”. My daughter is actually envious that I am going. I will never take mobility for granted since this is the fourth foot surgery for me. You really learn who your true friends are when you need help. I am grateful to all my family and friends for their prayers and well wishes.  I am actually looking forward to Wednesday when I will get to go back into work. Am I crazy?  Maybe, but hey at least I get to get out of the house!

4 thoughts on “I Got To Leave The House…….

  1. i understand, the things we take for granted, like being able to go out in the world whenever we want to, seem just that much more precious when the option is taken away. enjoy your time out, even if it is for work )

  2. I can’t tell you how much it means that someone understands what I am going through. I feel like I am in prison in my own house. I can’t wait to get out even if it is for work. Thanks for your kind words and understanding. 🙂

  3. How wonderful that you were able to get out to work! You have very nice co workers! It would get rather dreary to have to stay in every single day, especially since it’s not your choice but something you must do right now. Great that you also have a plan to get to work once a week!! That will clear your mind and help you to feel apart of everything – but still not over do it until you are completely ready to be out and about every day!!

  4. Thanks for the beautiful comment. If I didn’t have my dogs, I would probably go crazy. I am glad that through blogging I am able to connect with others who can understand my situation. I am very grateful to have family and co-workers that care about me. Don’t worry I will not be overdoing it. Unfortunately before I am released back to everyday life, I will be having another surgery that will keep me home for another 4 weeks. When this is all over, I will definitely be spending as much time as possible outside!

Leave a Reply

