Home » Relationships/Family/Love » Thank God It’s Friday

Thank God It’s Friday


This has been a week of ups and downs. Yesterday with all the rain in Chicago my basement flooded. This was made worse by the fact that I could do nothing about it because of my recent foot surgery. All of my kids wedding and shower gifts are in the basement. Luckily the majority of them are on shelves . It is hard to express the feeling of helplessness one feels when you know your possessions may be destroyed but there is nothing you can do. It is times like this that I really hate being alone.

My week was not all bad though. Today I went to the foot doctor and he said my foot is doing well. He is leaving the stitches in for another week as a precaution. I should be able to get back to work by May 15th or so. I went in to work on Wednesday thanks to the kindness of one of my co-workers. It was so nice to get out of the house.

My kids came home tonight which makes me very happy. I not only get to see them and spend time with them, for a few days I will not be alone. My daughter helped me vacuum most of the water out of the basement. I think we will have to go buy a dehumidifier to really dry it out good and prevent mold. In only eight days my daughter will be graduating college. I was looking forward to having her home at least for the summer. As luck would have it, she might have a job at Vincennes. This is a good thing except for the fact that they want her to work the summer. She has to come home to take care of me for my next surgery. After I am released she will probably be leaving. I realize she is 21 and married and needs to start her own life. It is hard to know that her leaving for good will mean once again I will be alone.

I know many people look forward to the weekend for many different reasons.  I am looking forward to this one because I get to spend it with my kids. We have a lot of stuff to do to plan for me to be alone for two weeks at home. My fridge is bare, so we will definitely be going grocery shopping. Laundry also needs to be done and the house cleaned. I will be doing some work over the weekend also.

I know I have much to be thankful for in life. I sometimes start feeling sorry for myself and I have to realize there is always someone who has it worse than me. I am grateful for my relatively good health, terrific family and of course the weekend.

6 thoughts on “Thank God It’s Friday

  1. Wonderful that the kids made it home to help get the water out. What a blessing to have them help you with the laundry and the grocery shopping ;). Grocery shopping for two weeks can be a huge accomplishment can’t it?! It wears me out, lol!! After having them help you with all the necessity’s over the weekend … even though it’s hard when they leave again. Maybe you can designate Monday as a “me” day (besides your work from home) You can rest up, ready a book, reward yourself with some tasty treat while you watch a favorite show. Line up a few things that are “just for you” so you have something special to look forward to in your quiet moments!! Take care girl!! Have a beautiful family weekend!! (also, I hope your kids and you didn’t loose anything too sentimental in the flood)

  2. My daughter is a true gem. I can always count on her to be there for me if she can. She graduates college a week from today. I will be very proud watching her finally reach her goal after much long hard work. I plan on enjoying this weekend to the max. I will take Monday when it comes. I do like your idea to do something I want to do for once. Maybe I will watch a movie or read a book. P.S. The kids didn’t lose anything really valuable. Luckily I think my husband was looking out from heaven and stopped the water just short of their stuff.

  3. I have learned there is always someone who has it worse than me. I try to stay positive otherwise life would be pretty dark. Losing my husband has taught me to try to live life to the fullest and enjoy what you have. Thanks for reading, I love your blog so please never stop writing.

Leave a Reply

