Home » Camping » Finally…I had a great day!

Finally…I had a great day!


I thought it was time to share some good news in my life for a change. I have to tell you about my Thursday. The day started out for me with an appointment to my foot doctor. This went very well. I was able to get my stitches out. It hurt like hell, but I am so glad to be able to get my foot wet and wear my own shoes! I was also told I could drive short distances. Considering I have been confined to the house for the last three weeks, this news was a blessing. I will never take my mobility for granted ever again.

After the doctor, I went to work. I have only been going in once a week per doctor’s orders. It was nice to get out and be around people. I was able to clear up all the problems that were waiting for me. It felt good to clean up my paperwork. The doctor said I can go back to work in two weeks. It looks like I will be at work for eight days before my next surgery. I am so grateful to my company for supporting me in working from home.

I also made an exciting purchase yesterday. I am now the proud owner of a 2000 Palomino Mustang pop up camper. My sister-in-law heard about it through a friend. She knew I was looking for a camper with a very limited budget. When she heard it was for sale for only $500 she thought of me right away. My sister-in-law is the one who got me started in camping. She knows her trailers so much better than I do. Especially with my recent foot surgery, I asked my sister-in-law to take a look at it for me and give me her opinion. She went to look at it yesterday and called me to say it is worth way more than the $500 they are asking. The only problem was that they wanted her to take it right now. I told her to bring it to my mom’s garage where I will be keeping it and I would give her the money. My mom has a two and a half car garage and the camper pretty much fills it up. It is 14 feet long! Listen to all the camper has to offer! It is air-conditioned, sleeps 8 with a king size bed, queen size bed and two couches that make into beds. It has a refrigerator, three burner inside/outside stove-top, sink, two dinettes one of them U-shaped, a large outside storage box, plenty of counter and cabinet space. It also has a cabinet that stores a portable toilet! I cannot tell you how anxious we are for our first camping date in July. I have to get a tow package installed on my Lexus but that is a small price to pay.  We are so looking forward to camping at the Indiana Dunes with the two dogs. It will truly be a family affair.

I am writing this from a hotel room in Vincennes, Indiana. I cam to town to watch my beautiful daughter graduate college. The four and a half hour drive was well worth it to see the look of pure love on my daughter’s face when I got to town.  She knows I hate car rides more than anything and with my foot problems it was a real fun experience. NOT! It doesn’t seem like it has been three years since I brought my daughter down here for the first time. She has worked extremely hard and will be getting dual Associate degrees in Culinary Arts/Restaurant Management. I know she wishes her dad was here to see this.  I have told her he is watching from heaven. I will be in the crowd proudly watching my now grown daughter complete another phase of her life. This has been a great couple of days. I think it is about time that I have things go right for me. Hopefully this is a sign of good things to come….

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Finally…I had a great day!

  1. wow, i’m really happy for you, so many good things are turning around and happening for you, i think you’re right, it is a sign of good things to come )

    • I know everything happens for a reason and I think some of the bad things happen to make me stronger. I am full of promise for what the future will hold. Hopefully a positive outlook will help! Thanks for your support.

  2. Wow, So many wonderful things have happened, I am so happy for you! First off, good to hear that you got your stitches off, and you get to get out and drive and experience freedom! Getting into work on your own must have felt great!

    Congratulations on purchasing your new to you camper! Sounds like your summer is going to be F U N! I envy you and I hope you totally enjoy every moment of adventure this will bring you on your quest for the peace of nature!! I can imagine the fun family outings! It sounds like you got a great deal and that it has everything you may need!!! Awesome!

    Congratulations to you and your Daughter on her Graduation! I know that it took a lot of work on her part and yours as her parent! Her dreams are just beginning!! How wonderful!

    A four and half hour drive! Commendable! I love car rides but not if I am the driver! I am white knuckled and nervous! (I am getting better, as I WANT to get out and go places and not depend on anyone else to get me there)

    I’m happy this has been such a wonderful time for you!
    It’s just The beginning of all things good!!!

  3. Thank you for the well wishes. I can’t tell you how nice it is to have things going good for me for a change. I am so proud of my daughter. We are having so much fun celebrating her graduation. I am so excited because she will be coming home Wednesday for the summer. It will be great to not be the only human at home anymore. I mean the dogs are great but nothing beats being able to talk to a person. Stay tuned because I will be writing more in the near future!

Leave a Reply

