Home » FOOD » Summer Fun

Summer Fun


I had some fun in June, but it looks like July and August really hold all the excitement. I like the 4th of July. This year my city is having their fireworks on the lakefront on the 3rd. My family will take our chairs and sit on the grass at the park and watch the show. On the fourth my city, Whiting, Indiana has a parade at 10am. We haven’t missed a parade since my daughter was born. The rest of the day we spend relaxing and BBQing.

Friday July 12th will be my first camping trip with my new camper. I am getting so excited about finally getting to go. We have been buying stuff for the camper for weeks now. To be able to spend the weekend at the Dunes in my camper doing what I want is a dream come true. I hope this will just be the start of a fun camping season.

Our city has a Festival of the Lakes a couple blocks from my house. There is a nice carnival and live big name entertainment. This year I want to go see Smokey Robinson and LL Cool J. The food vendors are to die for and the entertainment is free!!! At the end of July my city hosts a Pierogi Fest that always draws a huge crowd. It is three days full of a crazy parade, arts and craft booths and tons of food. I do not have to cook the entire time. They close off a six block stretch of main street and it is one big party.

In early August it is county fair time. The kids love to ride the rides and play the games. I personally go for the food. They have things there I can only get once a year. We make an entire day of it. The second weekend in August my kids will be moving out. They have a one bedroom apartment in Vincennes where my boy will finish out his last year of school.

This will be a busy summer for sure. I look forward to the adventures and only wish I had someone to share them with….maybe next year…

5 thoughts on “Summer Fun

    • I have had the kids away at college since my husband’s death, so I have been alone for extended periods before. I hope to start a new chapter in my life when they move out. I hope to write more about that later.

  1. Your camping trip sounds like so much fun! I love to food over the rides too! I’m not sure what you’ll find but I’m thinking…. elephant ears…fried chips topped with cheese and sour cream….I could go on and on! I hope you have a blast! You will find your someone special to share your life with …. right at the perfect time! I know it’s hard to wait but it will happen!!

    • I will definitely let you know how the camping trip goes. The foods I want are the fried mozzarella sticks and cheddar balls from the Wisconsin cheese booth and a good steak sandwich. Elephant ears are on the list as well as a good smoothie. I hope your summer is going great.

      • That all sounds wonderful, especially the fried mozzarella sticks….anything with cheese!! Can’t wait to hear about your trip!!

Leave a Reply

