Home » Relationships/Family/Love » The Kids Are Gone!

The Kids Are Gone!


Last month my kids moved out for good. I knew it probably wouldn’t be easy, but I was not prepared for what actually happened! Although looking back it could have been worse, I am sure glad it is over.

As I said in a previous post, this summer my kids found a one bedroom apartment in Vincennes, Indiana.  The apartment is beautiful and we feel lucky they could get it. Their landlords are a family and not some corporation. This puts my mind at ease because I know the people care about their buildings and it shows in how well they are kept up. They also check out their tenants thoroughly which allows me to sleep better.

August 9th was the day we chose for moving day. I was going to take off work the 8th to help get last-minute things ready and the 9th we would drive down. Once we knew the date it was time to rent a truck. I checked out different truck rental companies online. I also had to figure out how I would get home after driving the truck down. We ended up choosing U-Haul because their rates were good and through them I could put my car on a vehicle transport. This way when we got down there all I had to do was unload my car and I would be set to come home. We also decided to hire movers to unload the truck once we got there. We figured loading the truck would be hard enough for us. Also since they live on the third floor we weren’t about to kill ourselves trying to get their stuff up to their apartment without damaging anything.

As it turned out my daughter did not start packing until only a couple of days before the move. Needless to say it was utter chaos and everything was crazy. It was hard because they have a ton of stuff and their apartment is only so big. Deciding what to take was hard for my daughter. I did not envy her at all. She started packing up their room when the moving truck was out front. The truck was brand new and we were the first ones to rent it. My boy and his friend packed the truck for the most part. We also ended up packing all three of our cars! We were just hoping everything would fit into the apartment.  The truck didn’t end up getting loaded until after 10pm. We stayed up late trying to get everything packed for the cars.

We did not have a problem getting my car on the transport. The drive down also went well for the most part. We did have one major problem, however. I was supposed to get a call from the movers the day before the move. When that didn’t happen I tried all morning to reach them without luck.  On the drive down, I finally reached them. Only they told me they couldn’t move us because they were overbooked. They thought someone called me. Now mind you we are two hours away from our destination with a 14 foot truck and three cars full of belongings!! My daughter had to pull over and using her cell phone, find us a new set of movers. Luckily she was able to do this. We were running late in getting to town so I had to call the landlord and ask if we could still get keys after hours. They were very accommodating and came back when we arrived to do the paperwork and give us the keys.

We told the new movers to show up around 7pm, which is when I rolled into town with the truck. They did not arrive until after 8:30pm, however. I guess we should be lucky they showed up at all. Two hours later the kids stuff was all moved in. They went to get dinner and I started unpacking the kitchen. We went to Walmart to get stuff for the apartment around 11:30pm. We got home with a car full of stuff at 1:30am. Then we had to carry it all up to the 3rd floor. We ended up staying up until 4am unpacking and setting things up around the apartment. We thought we could sleep in. Wrong!!  The U-Haul company called me at 8am wanting to know when I was bringing the truck back! I thought I had until at least 2pm to return it, but they promised it to someone else for early morning! So we had to get up and take the truck back.

After coming back and getting a few more hours sleep, we went out shopping again. We needed to get more stuff at Walmart and they also needed groceries. So three stores later and the kids had food and most of what they needed to start their new life. I did need to order them a kitchen table, pantry and desk for the apartment. I was hoping to get home by 6pm but it turned out more like 10:30pm.

In the weeks since, the stuff I ordered came in and my daughter assembled it all. I think the apartment looks nice and they will do fine. My daughter is learning to grocery shop and take care of a place. Soon she will be finding a job and their life can fall into a routine. I know my kids love each other and will do great. Now to get my life in order!

Leave a Reply

